中文

最新文件– 2018614

根据卑诗省高等法院2017年4月7号的命令, 准许对THORNTON 有限公司(简称“接管人”)的指派, 委任其为 BOSSTEAM 电子商务公司 (简称 “BOSSTEAM”)特定款项 (简称“受接管的款项”)的接管人。

卑诗省证券协会 (简称 “协会”)此前要求卑诗省高等法院做出接管该款项的命令, 然后也得到了该法庭命令。协会早前发现BOSSTEAM通过互联网络广告的形式 欺诈了好几千位投资人士价值数百万元的财产。

协会从2012年1月起就开始调查BOSSTEAM及其负责人。 2012年和2013年期间, 协会冻结了BOSSTEAM在卑诗省银行账户上的现金资产总共$10,000,000 美金 (简称 “被冻结资产”)。

根据2017年4月7日的法庭命令,也叫做 索赔程序和款项分配命令 (简称“CPDO”), 接管人需要协调管理索赔程序, 同时把冻结的资金退还给那些能证明他们确实给BOSSTEAM提供过资金的投资人士。 本概要中大写的但没有特别解释的术语都在CPDO里面有具体描述。

根据CPDO的要求, 接管人:

  • · 从被告和协会那里收集来信息, 用于确认现有的和潜在的投资人的索赔申请;
  • · 通过电子邮件或普通邮件向已知的原告发出通知;
  • · 按照法庭指令,建立并维护专门网站,为已知和潜在的原告们提供信息和渠道;
  • · 在中国和北美发布新闻公告;
  • · 在《文汇日报》这份在中国无论是印刷版还是电子版都广为人知的报刊上发布法律公告;
  • · 对投资人的索赔申请和债权人的索赔申请进行分析和确认;
  • · 对声明栏日期前收到的索赔申请进行裁决, 并且
  • · 向那些索赔申请被拒绝的原告们发出拒绝通知。

BOSSTEAM 的记录是不完整的, 这就意味着也许有好几千位BOSSTEAM投资人。但是, 尽管接管人做了很大的努力去联络各位投资人, 但是接管人在声明栏日期前仅仅收到 972份索赔申请。 当然, 接管人已经接受了451份索赔申请, 加起来的总金额大约为350万美元。接管人还承认, BOSSTEAM有三位主要的债权人:协会, 加拿大税务局以及一个叫MILLER THOMSON  LLP 的律师行。

不幸的是,BOSSTEAM的记录是零碎的,也是不完整的。  对这些记录进行刑侦推理或者收集更多相关信息并不是接管人的职责。   接管人的职责仅仅限于接管该接管职责内的款项, 并根据CPDO的要求,管理好索赔程序,以把接管职责内的款项发放给尽可能多的合法投资人为己任。但是对接管人没有要求说要其调查BOSSTEAM的事务或试图寻找或追踪BOSSTEAM的其他财产。

由于BOSSTEAM 公司记录不足的问题, 接管人没有对投资人提出严格的要求来证明其索赔金额和内容, 特别是那些金额比较小的索赔申请。 但是,接管人有要求投资人至少要提供一些证据来证明他们确实给BOSSTEAM 提供了资金。 之所以这样做, 至少部分原因是因为担心有些人会利用这个索赔程序, 把它当成递交欺诈性质索赔的一个机会, 这样做也同时降低了接受虚假索赔的风险。

接管人在裁决这些投资索赔的时候,考虑到投资人中主要是个人投资, 他们缺乏以往投资经验或一定的老练程度, 他们中的很多人都以现金进行投资, 而且之后也没有从BOSSTEAM拿到收据或者其他文件。

尽管接管人的意愿是把冻结的资金分配给尽可能多的投资人手里, 但是有很大一部分已经递交的索赔申请都没有证明文件, 而且也不能与接管人手里掌握的记录有任何相吻合的地方, 因此, 接管人就无法确认这些索赔申请是否合法。这就导致 接管人没有其他办法, 只能基于此原因拒绝大量的索赔申请。

接管人认为其已经采取了恰当的措施, 通知了索赔程序中涉及的各位投资人, 而且已经批准的索赔申请都是合法的申请, 应当予以支付。

Home

UPDATE - JUNE 14, 2018

By order of the Supreme Court of British Columbia dated April 7, 2017 (the “Receivership Order”), Grant Thornton Limited (the “Receiver”) was appointed receiver of certain funds (the “Receivership Funds”) of Bossteam E-Commerce Inc. (“Bossteam”). 

The Receivership Order was sought and obtained by the British Columbia Securities Commission (the “Commission”). The Commission had earlier found that Bossteam had defrauded thousands of individual investors of millions of dollars by way of an internet advertizing scheme. 

The Commission began investigating Bossteam and its principals in January 2012.  In 2012 and 2013, the Commission froze cash assets in bank accounts of Bossteam in British Columbia totalling approximately $10,000,000 US (the “Frozen Funds”).

By Order of the Court dated April 7, 2017, called the Claims Process and Distribution Order (the “CPDO”), the Receiver was tasked with administering a claims process, with a view to returning the Frozen Funds to Investors who could establish that they had provided funds to Bossteam.  Capitalized terms used and not otherwise defined in this Summary have the meaning ascribed to them in the CPDO.

In furtherance of its mandate under the CPDO, the Receiver:

  • gathered such information as was available from the Respondents and the Commission, in order to better identify Investors and potential Investor Claims;
  • provided notice to Known Claimants via electronic or regular mail;
  • created and maintained the Dedicated Website (as the Court directed), in order to provide information and access to Known and potential Claimants;
  • issued press releases in China and North America;
  • published a legal notice in the Wenhui Daily, a Chinese daily newspaper widely available in print and online;
  • identified and analysed Investor and Creditor Claims;
  • adjudicated all Claims received prior to the Claims Bar Date; and
  • delivered Notices of Disallowance to those Claimants whose Claims have been disallowed.

Bossteam’s records, which are incomplete, indicated that there may have been several thousand Bossteam Investors.  However, despite significant efforts to contact Investors, the Receiver received only 972 Investor claims prior to the Claims Bar Date.  Of those, the Receiver has allowed 451 claims, with a combined value of about $3.5 million US. The Receiver also has admitted the claims of three main creditors of Bossteam: the Commission, the Canada Revenue Agency and a law firm, Miller Thomson LLP. 

Unfortunately, the records of Bossteam were fragmented and incomplete.  It was not part of the Receiver’s mandate to conduct a forensic examination of those records or to gather further information.  The Receiver’s mandate was limited to taking possession of the Receivership Funds and to administering a claims process, with a view to distributing the Receivership Funds to as many legitimate Investors as possible, in accordance with the CPDO.  The Receiver was not asked to otherwise investigate the affairs of Bossteam or attempt to locate or recover other assets.

Given the deficiencies in Bossteam’s record-keeping, the Receiver did not require investors to meet a stringent threshold of proof to establish their claims, particularly Investors with small claims.  Nevertheless, the Receiver did require investors to at least provide some evidence that they had actually provided funds to Bossteam. This was done, at least in part, out of concern that parties might view the claims process as an opportunity to submit fraudulent claims, and also to reduce the risk of fraudulent claims being allowed.

The Receiver adjudicated Investor Claims in a manner reflecting the fact that the Investors were mainly individuals with limited investment experience or sophistication, many of whom invested in cash and did not receive any receipt or other documentation from Bossteam.

Despite the Receiver’s desire to distribute as much of the Frozen Funds to Investors as possible, a large number of claims were submitted with no supporting documentation and which did not otherwise match anything in the records in the Receiver’s possession, and thus the Receiver could not be satisfied that these were legitimate claims.  As a result, the Receiver was compelled to disallow a significant number of claims.

The Receiver is satisfied that it has taken appropriate steps to notify Investors of the Claims Process and that the Claims it has allowed are legitimate Claims that should be paid.